NIU Department of Mathematical Sciences
2012 Annual Awards

The College of Liberal Arts and Sciences Dean's Award Awarded to students who made substantial contributions to the university community and who have demonstrated outstanding scholarship.

Department of Mathematical Sciences Chairman's Award Awarded to a graduate in recognition of their outstanding academic achievement. Division of Statistics Director's Award Awarded to a graduate (Bachelor or Master) in recognition of outstanding academic achievement. Stelford Prize Awarded to a graduate in recognition of outstanding academic achievement. Based solely on academic achievement. Margariete Montague Wheeler Scholarship Awarded to a junior mathematics education major who will be continuing his or her studies at Northern next year. Based on academic achievement and potential as a teacher. Margariete Montague Wheeler Teaching Award Awarded to graduating students judged to have the most potential as mathematics teachers. Based on performance in student teaching and other clinical experiences, as well as academic achievement. The D.R. Ostberg Award Awarded to a continuing student, based on academic achievement. Clarence Ethel Hardgrove Scholarship Joseph C. and Marion E. Huber Memorial Scholarship Michael J. Krowka Scholarship Mathematical Sciences Scholarship Fund Gail Masters Gallagher Memorial Scholarship Awarded to an outstanding student majoring in Mathematical Sciences who will have junior class rank during the next academic year. Based on academic achievement. Allstate Actuarial Scholarship Outstanding Graduate Student Award Dale G. Jungst Memorial Scholarship Award Certificate of Teaching Excellence Carol Feltz Scholarship Mathematical Sciences Incoming Freshman Scholarship Certificate of Merit Awarded to graduates in recognition of superior academic achievement.



Honorable Mention Awards Awarded to graduates in recognition of their academic involvement and standing. Based on academic achievement.



Mathematics Department Contest Each spring semester the department holds a contest consisting of a three-hour exam that is open to all undergraduates and structured so that advanced students have no advantage.
The 2012 winners are:


See this link to see selected pictures from the 2012 ceremony.

Past Awards

2006 2007 2008 2009 2010
2001 2002 2003 2004 2005
1997 1998 1999 2000

Last modified: 4/24/2012