Scholarships and Awards

At NIU, we offer many scholarships and awards to mathematics students, as well as an annual contest.

To apply for scholarships, fill out the general application on the university's scholarship platform, MyScholarships. You may then receive suggestions for scholarships that require additional information.           

Most awards don't require an application. Awards are usually given at the end of the school year or after graduation. Recipients are recognized at our annual award ceremony in April.

Mathematics Contest

Each spring, the department holds a contest consisting of a three-hour exam. It's open to all undergraduates and structured so that advanced students have no advantage. If you're interested in participating, information is released early in the spring semester. You must register in advance.


Incoming Freshmen, Transfer and First-year Students

  • Mathematics Incoming Freshman Scholarship: for incoming freshmen majoring in mathematics. 
  • Clarence Ethel Hardgrove Mathematics Scholarship: for full-time, degree-seeking students in their first year of study in mathematics. Must be in good academic standing and have an excellent record in the study of mathematics. Scholarship may be renewed for the subsequent year.
  • Joseph C. and Marion E. Huber Memorial Scholarship: for students entering NIU as full-time, degree-seeking mathematics majors. Should come from a rural community or city with a population less than or equal to 100,000; preference given to those with an agricultural background. Must demonstrate academic merit and accomplishment. Scholarship may be renewed for the subsequent year.

Continuing and Graduating Students

  • Gail Masters Gallagher Memorial Scholarship: for full-time mathematics majors who will have junior class rank during the next academic year. Based on academic achievement.
  • Tatsuji and Mami Kambayashi Memorial Scholarship: for full-time mathematics majors. Junior class rank during the next academic year preferred. Based on academic achievement.
  • Chaitan and Sarita Gupta Scholarship: for full- or part-time, degree-seeking mathematics majors. Must be in good academic standing with a GPA of at least 3.5. Financial need may be a consideration.
  • Eugene W. Hellmich Mathematics Prize: for graduating seniors who are continuing for graduate work and are committed to teaching mathematics at the secondary level. Requires a high GPA, demonstrated ability and excellent character. If interested, contact the department by the middle of your final undergraduate semester.
  • Dr. John Christiano Scholarship: for full-time undergraduates majoring in mathematical sciences or science-related areas with the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences. Based on academic achievement.

Mathematics Education Majors

  • The Dale Jungst Award: for mathematics education majors who have completed at least one semester at NIU with a GPA of at least 3.2.
  • Dorothy and Glenn Erickson Mathematics Scholarship: for mathematics education majors who are at least sophomores.
  • Paul and Elizabeth Kling Scholarship: for full-time, degree-seeking juniors or seniors in secondary education studying to teach mathematics or science. Must have a cumulative GPA of 3.0 or higher and demonstrate financial need.
  • Alice H. Hicks Teacher's Education Fund: for students over age 25 who are committed to teaching after graduation.
  • Future Educators Scholarship Program: for students who exhibit a commitment to the teaching profession.


  • Merlyn J. Behr Award in Mathematics Education: for a student (usually a graduate student) who demonstrates ability and potential in mathematics education research. Requires successful completion of a significant amount of coursework in mathematics education and participation in a mathematics education research project.
  • R. Ostberg Award: for a continuing upper-division or graduate mathematics student. Based on academic achievement.
  • Stelford Prize: for a graduating senior in recognition of outstanding academic achievement.
  • Margariete Montague Wheeler Scholarship: for a junior mathematics education major preparing for a career in teaching mathematics who plans to continue their studies at NIU. Based on academic achievement and potential as a teacher.
  • Margariete Montague Wheeler Teaching Award: for graduating students who have great potential as mathematics teachers. Based on performance in student teaching and other clinical experiences, as well as academic achievement.
  • Carol J. Feltz Memorial Award: for a continuing student pursuing the statistics emphasis.
  • College of Liberal Arts and Sciences Deans' Award: for students who make substantial contributions to the university community and demonstrate outstanding scholarship.
  • Department of Mathematical Sciences Chair's Award: for a graduate in recognition of their outstanding academic achievement.
  • Division of Statistics Director's Award: for a graduate in recognition of outstanding academic achievement.
  • Certificate of Merit and Honorable Mention Awards: for graduating students in recognition of superior academic achievement.
  • Certificate of Teaching Excellence: for exceptional doctoral students. Based on sustained excellence as a teaching assistant as well as academic achievement.

Contact Us

Department of Mathematical Sciences
DeKalb, IL 60115


Registration or class questions

Chair's office

Director of Undergraduate Studies
Alastair Fletcher, Associate Professor

Back to top